A RESOLUTION

Creating the Joint House and Senate Coastal Greenway Study Committee; and for other purposes.

WHEREAS, the Georgia coast is one of the finest tourist attractions in the State of Georgia, with many historic sites, popular outdoor recreation areas, and many local, state, and federally owned attractions including state parks and historic sites, wildlife areas, beaches, and outstanding scenic areas and vistas; and

WHEREAS, bicycling, walking, hiking, and jogging are healthful exercises as well as wholesome forms of outdoor recreation suitable for families of all ages; and

WHEREAS, providing alternative means of transportation helps alleviate automobile traffic and air pollution and provides another choice for commuting to work or play for all ages and income groups in our state; and

WHEREAS, facilities for such activities can also be designed for use by handicapped individuals who would not otherwise be able to travel on roads and highways; and

WHEREAS, it has been proposed to create a separate paved trail on city and county owned rights of way and the state owned right of way of U.S. 17 and Georgia Highway 99 from Savannah to St. Marys to be known as the Coastal Georgia Greenway; and

WHEREAS, such trail would lie wholly within the Gullah Geechee National Heritage Corridor and the entire Altamaha Scenic Byway, most of the Colonial Coast Birding Trail and most of Georgia Bike Route 95, and part of Georgia Bike Routes 10, 35, and 40; and

WHEREAS, such trail would link over 115,860 acres of existing wildlife preserves, natural areas, parks, and 12 National Historic Landmark Districts in coastal Georgia; and

WHEREAS, such trail would be a part of the proposed East Coast Greenway from Calais, Maine, to Key West, Florida.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF GEORGIA:

(1) **Creation of joint study committee.** There is created the Joint House and Senate Coastal Greenway Study Committee.

(2) Members and officers.

(A) The committee shall be composed of 13 members.

(B) The President of the Senate shall appoint four members of the Senate as members of the committee and shall designate one of such members as cochairperson.

(C) The Speaker of the House of Representatives shall appoint four members of the House of Representatives as members of the committee and shall designate one of such members as cochairperson.

(D) Additional members shall include the Commissioner of the Department of Transportation or his designee, the Commissioner of Natural Resources or his designee, the Commissioner of the Department of Community Affairs or his designee, the Director of the Department of Economic Development, and the Executive Director of the Coastal Georgia Greenway.

(3) **Powers and duties.** The committee shall undertake a study of the conditions, needs, issues, and problems mentioned above or related thereto and recommend any action or legislation which the committee deems necessary or appropriate.

(4) **Meetings.** The cochairpersons shall call all meetings of the committee. The committee may conduct such meetings at such places and at such times as it may deem necessary or convenient to enable it to exercise fully and effectively its powers, perform its duties, and accomplish the objectives and purposes of this resolution.

(5) Allowances, expenses, and funding.

(A) The legislative members of the committee shall receive the allowances provided for in Code Section 28-1-8 of the Official Code of Georgia Annotated.

(B) Members of the committee who are state officials, other than legislative members, or state employees shall receive no compensation for their services on the committee, but they may be reimbursed for expenses incurred by them in the performance of their duties as members of the committee in the same manner as they are reimbursed for expenses in their capacities as state officials or employees.

(C) The allowances and expenses authorized by this resolution shall not be received by any member of the committee for more than five days unless additional days are authorized. Funds necessary to carry out the provisions of this resolution shall come from funds appropriated to the Senate and the House of Representatives; except that funds for the reimbursement of the expenses of state officials, other than legislative members, and state employees shall come from funds appropriated to or otherwise available to their respective agencies.

(6) **Report.**

(A) In the event the committee adopts any specific findings or recommendations that include suggestions for proposed legislation, the cochairpersons shall file a report of the same prior to the date of abolishment specified in this resolution, subject to subparagraph (C) of this paragraph.

(B) In the event the committee adopts a report that does not include suggestions for proposed legislation, the cochairpersons shall file the report, subject to subparagraph (C) of this paragraph.

(C) No report shall be filed unless the same has been approved prior to the date of abolishment specified in this resolution by majority vote of a quorum of the committee. A report so approved shall be signed by the cochairpersons of the committee and filed with the Secretary of the Senate and the Clerk of the House of Representatives.

(D) In the absence of an approved report, the cochairpersons may file with the Secretary of the Senate and the Clerk of the House of Representatives copies of the minutes of the meetings of the committee in lieu thereof.

(7) Abolishment. The committee shall stand abolished on December 1, 2015.