# Sixty-fourth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 6, 2015

HOUSE BILL NO. 1474 (Representatives Boehning, Rick C. Becker, Kasper, Kreidt, Schatz) (Senators Casper, Sorvaag)

AN ACT to amend and reenact sections 16.1-03-02 and 16.1-03-05 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to political organizations.

### BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

**SECTION 1. AMENDMENT.** Section 16.1-03-02 of the North Dakota Century Code is amended and reenacted as follows:

### 16.1-03-02. Who may participate in and vote at caucus.

- 1. Only those individuals who are qualified electors under section 16.1-01-04 may vote or be elected as committeemen or officers at the precinct caucus.
- 2. Only those individuals who either voted or affiliated with the party at the last general election or intend to affiliate with the party and vote with the party at the next election may vote at the precinct caucus.
- 3. In case the right of an individual to participate at the caucus is challenged, the question of the individual's right to participate must be decided by a vote of the whole caucus. An individual so challenged may not vote on the question of the individual's right to participate in the caucus, and a two-thirds vote of the whole caucus is required to exclude an individual from participation.
- 4.3. An individual may not vote or participate at more than one precinct caucus in any one year.

**SECTION 2. AMENDMENT.** Section 16.1-03-05 of the North Dakota Century Code is amended and reenacted as follows:

#### 16.1-03-05. Vacancies in office of precinct committeeman - Filling.

A vacancy in the office of precinct committeeman, which occurs after the organization of the district committee, may be filled by appointment from the precinct by the district executive committee of the party, as authorized by the district party by-laws.

## H. B. NO. 1474 - PAGE 2

|                                  | Speaker of the House |                   |          | President of the Senate                           |         |
|----------------------------------|----------------------|-------------------|----------|---------------------------------------------------|---------|
|                                  | Chief C              | lerk of the House |          | Secretary of the Senate                           |         |
|                                  |                      |                   |          | sentatives of the Sixty-<br>ody as House Bill No. |         |
| House Vote:                      | Yeas 83              | Nays 7            | Absent 4 |                                                   |         |
| Senate Vote:                     | Yeas 46              | Nays 0            | Absent 1 |                                                   |         |
|                                  |                      |                   |          | Chief Clerk of the H                              | louse   |
| Received by the Governor atM. on |                      |                   |          |                                                   | , 2015. |
| Approved at                      | M. on _              |                   |          |                                                   | , 2015. |
|                                  |                      |                   |          |                                                   |         |
|                                  |                      |                   |          | Governor                                          |         |
| Filed in this office thisday of  |                      |                   |          |                                                   | , 2015, |
| at o'                            | clock                | М.                |          |                                                   |         |
|                                  |                      |                   |          |                                                   |         |
|                                  |                      |                   |          | Secretary of State                                |         |